Four HR Directors walk into a pub…

David, has posed a great little thought experiment here. Have a think about the question for yourself and I think that you might learn something.

People Performance Potential

Four HR Directors enter a pub.

The first HRD says… “Do you know what, I’ve come to realise that my HR function is ineffective. In fact I couldn”t even tell you what our purpose and values are. What should I do?

The second HRD says… “I think my HR function is effective and we’ve defined our purpose & values. However, I’ve no way to evaluate our effectiveness. What should I do?

The third HRD says… “Do you know what, I’m kind of with the second HRD. My biggest trouble is that I’m flying blind much of the time as I don’t even have any decent management information. What should I do?

You are the fourth HRD. What could you do to help?

No Joke

This post was unwittingly inspired by an exchange on Twitter with my friend Simon Heath about the value & usefulness of the…

View original post 66 more words

About pauldrasmussen
Paul Rasmussen is one of Australia’s most widely read Vocational Education and Training Commentators. He provides deep, unbiased analysis and insights not only on topical issues, but also on the underlying structure and policy which supports the industry. His writing and analysis has been praised for its uncompromising and thought provoking style and its ability to focus on the issues of real importance to the sector. He has advised various government departments and ministers, training providers, public and private organisations, not for profits and small to medium enterprises on the VET sector and the issues and opportunities facing it. He is one of Australia’s most awarded learning professionals and a regular speaker at a range of conventions and forums. His extensive experience in vocational education, and learning and development coupled with formal qualifications in philosophy, ethics, business and education management allow Paul to provide a unique view of the road ahead and how to navigate it.

Let me Know what you think

